British Fungus and Columbus

A larger brewing session fell through yesterday, so I went ahead and threw together a very quick brew that I’d been prepping for for a while now. Thus, a SMaSH beer utilizing a brettanomyces claussenii (the British fungus) culture sent to me from Jeffrey Crane of Bikes Beer and Adventures, 1.6 kg of Bolivian pilsner malt and lots Columbus hops, since it takes a small batch brewer like myself ages to go through 1 lb of 14.0% AA American hops.

Once again, I still don’t have a hydrometer, but hopefully I’ll get a refractometer next time somebody I know comes down from the US and can ferry another order for me. So, I’ll certainly have to sit on this beer for a few months to let it finish anyway. One thing not mentioned in the recipe is that I pulled off the first 2 L of sparge and boiled them down for 90 minutes before adding it to the cooled wort. Somehow I managed to collect around 7 L of wort, so this might be a bit lighter than I anticipated, but that’s fine. Perhaps I’ll transfer 5 L to a smaller secondary fermenter and bottle the difference without priming sugar and open bottles every few weeks to see if it will prime itself on residual sugars. We’ll see.

  • TypeAll Grain
  • Efficiency 75.0%
  • Batch size6.0 L
  • Boil time60 min

Fermentables

Name Amount Use PPG
Pilsner Malt 1.6 kg100 % Mash 37

Hops

Name Amount Time Use Form AA
Columbus United States 2.0 g 60 min Boil Pellet 15.0%
Columbus United States 2.0 g 30 min Boil Pellet 15.0%
Columbus United States 2.0 g 20 min Boil Pellet 15.0%
Columbus United States 4.0 g 5 min Aroma Pellet 15.0%
Columbus United States 4.0 g 0 min Aroma Pellet 15.0%
Columbus United States 4.0 g 3 days Dry Hop Pellet 15.0%
Columbus United States 4.0 g 7 days Dry Hop Pellet 15.0%

Yeasts

Name Lab Attenuation Temp
Brettanomyces Claussenii 85.0% 85°F – 0°F

Predicted Stats

1.062 OG | 1.009 FG | 31 IBU | 6.9% ABV | 3 SRM | 0.5 IBU/OG
1 comment
  1. Glad, that yeast made it to you and hope the beer turns out well.

Leave a Reply

