Berliner Weisses

I’ve been doing a lot of Berliner Weisse lately. First was the wild BW that I aged for a good two months on tumbo (banana passionfruit) and just recently bottled a few weeks ago. It’s mouth-puckeringly sour and smells like overripe farmers cheese, but the one bottle I opened last weekend was probably one of the most complex tasting beers I’ve made. If I could tone it down and make it a bit more refreshing than overpowering, it’ll be a gem.

Then there was the sour mash that got split into two batches, one of which is meant as a BW racked onto motoyoé–I bottled and opened one of these fresh this past weekend, at it was smooth, creamy, sweet, and utterly delicious. It doesn’t yield any noticeable tartness (I think that three days might be the sweet spot for sour mashes), but the idea is going into my own personal canon.

And then finally, I was cleaning up a camera and came across the pictures of my first sour mashed BW, complete with some raspberry syrup for the tasting. Enjoy!

Preparing a raspberry syrup with some artificial flavoring, which is the best you can do here. I've never seen fresh raspberries in the two years I've been here. Elderberries, yes.

Preparing a raspberry syrup with some artificial flavoring, which is the best you can do here. I’ve never seen fresh raspberries in the two years I’ve been here. Elderberries, yes.

Berliner Weisse no. I in the glass with a shot of raspberry syrup to cut the sourness.

Berliner Weisse no. I in the glass with a shot of raspberry syrup to cut the sourness.

Leave a Reply

