Chilean beer: Cervezas 56 Oatmeal Stout

When I asked Ben Wood to recommend any beer at Beervana to me, he chose this stout, commenting that it’s superb rendition of the oatmeal stout style. Certainly, I’m all for trying something that brands itself “cerveza de garage;” add in some really excellent design, and I’ll have a go at this beer. Unfortunately, this tasting got cut short, so it’s a bit sparse on details.

Cerveza de Garage +56 Oatmeal Stout, 7.0% ABV

Appearance: black opaque with a two finger light tan head that keeps its shape like a thick mousse or merengue.
Aroma: sweet oatmeal. I’m drinking this outside in a shaker pint and can’t really tell.
Taste: sweet roasty foretaste leaving you with a bitter dry roasted taste that contrasts nicely and balances. Some dark chocolate.
Mouthfeel: full-bodied.

Overall, I’m reminded that while I increasingly am losing my taste for roasty dark beers, there are things to be appreciated, and this is one of them. Also, an robust oatmeal stout doesn’t really pair well with a hot summer afternoon, so there’s that to be said, too.

Leave a Reply

